This page contains details of the meetings of our Area Groups, other HMRS meetings and our participation in events organised by others.

For directions and how to contact the Area Group Organiser go to the Area Groups page.

Sat. 21 April - Note now not open on Sunday 22 April

HMRS Museum & Study Centre Open Days in association with Midland Railway Trust Tornado event. Please note Tornado is not now appearing, see Midland Railway Trust website for further details.

Wed. 25 April 19:30

Bletchley Area Group; In the footsteps of Ron Hart - The London and Birmingham Railway – the final push from Rugby to Birmingham, Tony Manktelow.

Fri. 27th April

Essex Area Group; Another look at the SDJR, Jem Harrison.

Sat. 28 April 14:30

Bristol Area Group; A further selection of Vintage Slides, Chris Youett.

Sat. 5 May/Sun. 6 May/Mon. 7 May

HMRS Museum & Study Centre Open Days in association with Midland Railway Trust Victorian train weekend.

Tue. 8 May, 18:30 for 19:00 Second Tuesday due to May Day.

London Area Group; Southern Electric Part 1, David Brown (from David's 2 volume new history of the Southern Electric).

Thu. 10 May 19:40 for 20:10

Sussex Area Group; The History of Lancing Carriage Works, Ian Richardson.

Fri. 18 May (not the last Friday of the month)

Essex Area group; To be arranged.

Sat. 19 May 11:30

HMRS M≻ Restoration of the Midland Railway Party Saloon, Alan Bridger

Followed by HMRS AGM (Members only) at 14:00

Sat. 19 May

East Midlands Industrial Archaeology One Day Conference Industrial Heritage Day - Electricity from Coal.

A series of five talks including David Monk-Steel whose interest in modelling BR freight wagons led him to write the book “Merry-go-round on the Rails”, published by HMRS.

Sat. 26 May 14:30

Bristol Area Group; An afternoon of Gauge O Guild videos.

Wed. 30 May 19:00

Bletchley Area Group; An evening of MR & GNR archaeology - a gentle stroll around the railway lands surrounding Kings Cross & St Pancras. Meet outside the main entrance of the Midland Grand Hotel (Euston Road) at St Pancras at 19:00.

Mon. 4 June 18:30 - we will be meeting up near Kings Cross station, further details nearer the time.

London Area Group; Beck Haslam from PRE will lead a Construct Walk around King Cross Goods Yard to look at the archaeology of the goods yard. This meeting will not be at Keen House and there is also a £5 donation to Becky for this walk to help fund her work on the Goods Yard.

Thu. 14 June, 19.:0 for 20:10

Sussex Area Group; To be announced, contact Area Organiser.

Sat. 16 June and Sun. 17 June

HMRS Museum & Study Centre Open Days in association with Midland Railway Trust Diesel Gala

Sun. 24 June

Essex Area Group; Outing to the Mid-Suffolk Light Railway.

Sun. 15 July

HMRS Museum & Study Centre Open Days in association with Midland Railway Trust Road rally.

Sun. 22 July

Bletchley Area Group; Summer outing to a well-known ‘OO’ gauge model railway – details in due course.

Fri. 27 July

Essex Area Group; Visit to Wateringbury EM gauge railway.

Mon. 3 September 18:30 for 19:00

London Area Group; A talk on some aspect of the SECR, John Arkell. John is the Membership Secretary of the SECR Society.

Wed. 26 September 19:30

Bletchley Area Group; Railways of Northamptonshire part 4, Robin Cullup & Brian Sullivan.

Fri. 28 September

Essex Area group; To be arranged.

Mon. 1 October 18:30 for 19:00

London Area Group; More wagon pictures from David Larkin's research for his wagon books.

Fri. 26 October

Essex Area group; To be arranged.

Wed. 31 October 19:30

Bletchley Area Group; Coal Traffic Research, John Arkell.

Mon. 5 November 18:30 for 19:00

London Area Group; 2 short talks - the GW&LNWR Joint Lines Minsterley Branch in Shropshire and a Holiday in North Devon during the last summer of Southern steam, Alan Rhodes.

Wed. 28 November 18:30

Bletchley Area Group; An evening of discussion and viewing members’ current modelling projects.  There will also be some layouts to run things on as well.  Note  we meet from 18:30. 

Mon. 3 December 18:30 for 19:00

London Area Group; Members' evening and mince pies, members of the group will give a 20 minute talk on a subject of interest to them.

©Historical Model Railway Society 1996 - 2018.

Charitable Incorporated Organisation No. 1166144

VAT Registration No. (GB) 231 1977 75

Website Developed
by GloverSure Ltd.